Entering a New Landscape

…or a moonscape is more like it. I’m no technophobe, but neither do I embrace technology for technology sake. I’m still stuck in the Crestaceous period of e-mail and (gasp) snail mail. I hate texting. My fingers are much more adept to writing with a pen or typing on a keyboard than pressing the small pads of numbers and letters on my archaic mobile phone. (I have yet to shell out for a computer-in-a-pocket mobile device called “Droid”, or “Atrix”, or “SomedayYouWillBeMyHumanSlave”- that last one is still in production)  About 50% of the time I accidentally hit the caps button and YELL A WHOLE MESSAGE, realize what I’ve done once I’ve stopped concentrating on the teeny tiny keypad, and then start all over. (Yes, I know that I sound like Andy Rooney.)

As I watched this youtube clip, “Did You Know? 4.0”

I found myself struggling to process the onslaught of information about this new frontier. Technological jargon pinged against my ears. Although the words were submerging in a vagueness of unfamiliarity at the time, I had a premonition that they would become as common as “apple” and “horse”. Someday our toddlers’ flashcards will read: “A is for App” ;  “B is for Blog”; “C is for Computer” (eh, that last one shows the extent of my comfort-level in this area).

How does a simple human like me process all of this new information about  this new world, where beyond-human processing speed is an asset? By the time I finally understand what’s going on, come to understand that a cloud refers to a massive cluster of stored information and not just aerial water content, the world will have moved on with out this citizen. I keep running towards the future, but tethered to my heels, weighing me down, will be all of the antiquated technology that I just finished figuring out.

Published by ShabSet

I'm a first-year MFA non-fiction candidate.

One thought on “Entering a New Landscape

  1. Shabrayle-

    I really enjoy reading your thought provoking comments. I appreciate that you called it a “moonscape” vs. a “landscape.” I feel the same way. I also agree that I find it extremely difficult to keep up, although I admit that I can be pretty stubborn about learning technology. It does seem like technology changes so quickly, it would be almost impossible to keep up, unless you are someone who really enjoys exploring every new tool or gadget. I’ve never been like that. I know I have to do a better job of moving into this century, but it seems overwhelming.

Leave a comment